Overnight Oats

I finally made a breakfast I have been meaning to try for months now – overnight oats! It is somewhat of a sensation in the blog world, especially on healthy living blogs. I just bought chia seeds {apparently you don’t get the same results by omitting these} from Trader Joe’s so the time was right.

Verdict: A new favorite 🙂

As a whole, it was very doughy and chewy – the rest of the blog world was right! I loved the texture. There are a number of ways you can make these, but I’ll share my recipe as well.

Overnight Oats

Serves One

  • 1/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/3 cup skim milk {or any kind you prefer}
  • 1/3 cup Greek Yogurt {I used nonfat plain, but I think a flavor would be good}
  • 1/2 tbsp. Chia Seeds
  • Cinnamon {as much as you like}

Combine these ingredients, stir well, and refrigerate overnight. In the morning, add preferred toppings. I added half of a banana, some sweetener, and a spoonful of peanut butter. I also want to try fresh berries at some point.

If you try it, let me know what you think! Or if you are already an overnight oats eater, what are some of your favorite toppings?

Have a nice Wednesday 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

