Windy City

I apologize for the blog break! I totally meant to post while in Chicago, but found myself too exhausted each night. The good news is I have a lot to share and these next few posts will be very visual!

We arrived early on Saturday, with the whole day ahead of us. I made the dumb decision to wear my flip flops all day, and we ended up walking for hours – I would estimate close to 10 miles! Needless to say, my feet were in rough shape by late afternoon. Regardless, it was the perfect day. I got to see everything of importance in Chicago – the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Millenium Park… we covered all the big stuff the first day.

Lunch happened on Navy Pier at Harry Caray’s

Mom and I shared a hummus plate and a Greek salad. The food came out so fast, which was much appreciated by two very hungry ladies πŸ™‚ I sipped on Blue Moon with an orange. Yum!!

We continued down the pier after lunch, enjoying the perfect weather and gorgeous views of Lake Michigan.

The water was so clean and blue. We continued down Lake Shore Drive to get to the parks and walked by a marina along the way.

I would never have guessed that there was this view in Chicago!

The Bean!

Mom and me πŸ™‚

Of course, we had to stop at Ghirardelli’s on the Magnificent Mile for an afternoon treat. I got cookie dough in a chocolate-dipped waffle bowl. I can’t describe how good it tasted.

We happened to be in town the weekend of the air show, so every hour or so we could see planes diving and doing flips – if you look closely, you can see that there are a pack of four in sync above. It was an awesome and unexpected part of the trip.

We ended the night with a walk near the hotel to see the city all lit up.

More tomorrow on the rest of my trip! How was your weekend?

Leave a Reply

